Dream big and take chances – Meet Sarah West in todays 5QQ’s

Today I am very excited. I have the honour of introducing you to one of my personal favorites, the divalicious, upcoming and very very talented musician – Miss Sarah West.

Miss Sarah West
Sarah West at Domestic Diva

The first time I heard about Sarah was in a Danish TV show on DR1 were she played the song “Magic” live. I totally lost my heart for this girl then. Her voice is so soft and yet powerfull, and playing live on air blew me away.

So who is this adorable young girl that stole my heart?

Sarah grew up in a small-town and always loved singing, playing and writing songs.
She moved to Copenhagen when she was 17 – and started building up her career.
Her breakthrough as a songwriter came last year with nr.1 of the year “Mest ondt” med Medina and Burhan G (jeps – landeplagen).

Mest ondt med Burhan G og Medina

She was recently discovered by “American Idol” judge Mr. Randy Jackson (Yes – THAT Jackson) – who has now taken her under his wings as an artist and a writer. How cool is that guys?!

Randy Jackson

She is currently doing her debut album in Tambourine Studioes in Malmø with Per Sunding (who also produced The Cardigans & Swan Lee among others), and will be touring from November 2011 in Denmark.

So, here are the famous 5 Quick Questions to Sarah West

– What do you do for a living and why?

Im a songwriter/artist – i write songs for artists in Europe, Asia and America – I spend most my time in either Copenhagen or Los Angeles performing and writing.. and I do it because I can’t help it. It’s who I am.

Oh, and I’m beginning my solo career right now! Its really exiting 😉

– Who/what inspires you?

I get that question a lot, and I usually answer: I don’t know for sure! Life I guess.. anything that makes my heart beat faster.

If i watch a sad movie or something on the news, if one of my friends are going through hard times, if my own life is a mess.

Or if the sky is blue and life is perfect for one little moment. Actually, sometimes – I dream melodies and when I wake up, I record them on my phone 🙂 They’re not all great though! I guess you can say I “sing in my sleep” 😉

– What is your passion in life and what makes you happy?

It’s to inspire people through what I do – and how I live my life. It’s to reach for the stars. Dream big and take chances. I wanna make my little mark in the world, and inspire someone else to reach their full potential – no matter what their gift is. If I can do that, it would make me really happy 😉

(other than that – chocolate, interior design – Beverly Hills 90210 – good coffee, long spa days, fleemarkets and cupcakes makse me REALLY happy 😉

– What is the best advice you would give your younger self #Dearyoungme?

Dear young me: Trust yourself and your talent. There are lots out there with gifts and talent, but there’s only one of you, so follow your heart, and remember who you are – when someone tells you who they want you to be – don’t listen – they wanted you for YOU in the first place (and get an accountant ASAP).

– What is your personal style and do you have a favorite designer/brand?

My style is classic – vintage and elegant. I mix the old with the new..

I’ve got curves (thanx mom) and I love ’em, so I try to compliment them!

I love shoes – and I have way to much jewelry, just need a few diamonds in the collection… 😉

Ahm.. Favorite designer… not sure. But Roberto Cavalli, If I was rich, I’d definately go crazy on his collections! I usually do my shopping when I travel – My favorite cities to spend all the money I don’t have are London – New York and LA!

For dates, fansite and info please go to:
Sarah West Homepage – Sarah West Facebook Fanpage – Sarah West on Twitter

I hope you enjoyed meeting Sarah West as much as I have. That is a cool girl! ❤

Divalove from Domestic Diva/Rikke